Saturday, November 18, 2006

Division 5 Promotion Playoff 2006

Cromane 1-08 Ballylongford 1-04

Cromane are back in Division Four of the County League after grinding out a four-point win over Ballylongford in Ballyheigue on Sunday December 17th.The winners had the aid of the wind in the first half in what was to be a low scoring game. Neither side though could have any complaints about the conditions as the Ballyheigue pitch was in great shape given the recent horren­dous weather.

Cromane scored four points, three from Garry McGrath (two frees and one from play), the other from play from JP McCarthy. Ballylongford hit two points from a Kiki Mulvihill free and a point from play from midfielder Ray O'Sullivan. Both sides had a number of wides before half time to leave the half-time score: Cromane 0-4, Ballylongford 0-2.In the second half Ballylongford took the wind and within seconds of the restart were awarded a penalty which was converted by Eamon Flavin to give Ballylongford a one-point lead, 1-2 to 0-4.
Cromane had moved Sean O'Sullivan from midfield to full forward, in a switch with McGrath, and he pulled Cromane ahead again within ten min­utes with three points. He hit one from play and two others from frees after fouls on McGrath and John O'Sullivan, who had an outstanding game for Cro­mane at wing back. Ballylongford pulled a point back from Kiki Mulvihill to narrow the gap to a single point again, 0-7 to 1-3.

Halfway through the half came the turning point of the game when Garry McGrath notched Cromane's only goal after great work from Donnchadh Walsh, Sean Walsh and substitute Damien Quigg. McGrath then added a further point from play to open up a five-point lead for Cromane, 1-8 to 1-3. Ballylongford laid siege on the Cro­mane goal in the last ten minutes but their only reward was a pointed free from Kiki Mulvihill. They had a number of goal chances but to no avail.

Cromane: Connie O'Riordan; James Foley, Noel Foley, Peter O'Reilly; John O'Sullivan, Colm Joy, Michael Teahan; Donnchadh Walsh, Sean O'Sullivan (0-3, 0-2 frees); Paul P O'Sullivan, JP McCarthy (0-1), Francis Casey; David Moroney, Garry McGrath (1-4,0-2 frees), Sean Walsh. Subs; Damien Quigg for Francis Casey, Maurice O'Shea for Paul P O'Sullivan, Cian O'Keeffe for David Moroney, Sean O'Reilly, Liam Teahan, Sean O'Sullivan and Liam Walsh.

Ballylongford: Bartly O'Connell; Pat Kennelly, Derek Nolan, Paul Moroney; Patrick Colllns, Stephen Foley, Daniel Lane; Paddy Kelly, Ray O'Sullivan (0-1); Brendan Bambury, Eamon Flavin (1-0 penalty),Stephen Mulvliill, Kiki Mulvihill (0-3, 0-2 frees), Paul Hurley, Sean Kelliher.

Referee: Danny McAuliffe (Cordal)

No comments: