Sunday, April 15, 2007

County League Rd.4

Cromane 1-10 Glenbeigh / Glencar 0-10

Cromane were victorious over Glenbeigh / Glencar on Sunday last in Cromane. Cromane had the advantage of the wind in the first half but it was Glenbeigh / Glencar who had the first score a point from Stephen Caulfield. Cromane squandered a lot of early chances a Cromane’s first score came from a sideline ball on the dressing room side from Sean O’Sullivan. Cromane then went into a 3 point lead with 3 points from Gary McGrath; 2 free’s and 1 from play. Then came the only goal of the game which was scored by Sean O’Sullivan after a great passing movement and great work by Sean Walsh. Gary McGrath extended Cromane’s lead with a point from play but Glenbeigh / Glencar pulled a point back when Stephen Caulfield converted a free. Cromane added 2 further points one each from Paul Patrick O’Sullivan and Sean Walsh both from play. Glenbeigh / Glencar but a great move together from deep in Cromane’s half and resulted with a point for midfielder Joe McGuillycuddy. The last score of the half came from Gary McGrath for Cromane with a point from play. Glenbeigh / Glencar had one last attack before the break with a goal bound shot but was cleared off the line by corner back Cian O’Keffee to leave the scores Cromane 1-8 Glenbeigh / Glencar 0-3.

In the 2nd half Glenbeigh / Glencar with the aid of the wind had 2 quick points one from Eugene Courtney and a free from Connie Murphy but Cromane responded with 2 points of their own from Sean Walsh and Paul Patrick O’Sullivan. Glenbeigh / Glencar came more into the game with points from Michael Breen, Stephen Caulfield and Raymond O’Connor. Glenbeigh / Glencar went all out in search of the goal in the closing stages but the Cromane defence stood firm, Glenbeigh / Glencar added 2 late free’s one from Connie Murphy and one from Stephen Caulfield to leave the final score Cromane 1-10 Glenbeigh / Glencar 0-10.

Best for Cromane were: Peter O’Reilly, Cian O’Keffee, Michael Teahan , Donnachadh Walsh, Sean O’Sullivan, Gary McGrath and Sean Walsh.

Best for Glenbeigh / Glencar were: Raymond O’Connor, Joe McGuillycuddy, Stephen Caulfield, Fergal Griffin, Eugene Courtney, Connie Murphy and Micheal Griffin.

Teams were: Cromane: Liam Walsh, Cian O’Keffee, James Foley, Peter O’Reilly, Michael Teahan, Colm Joy, John O’Sullivan, Donnachadh Walsh, Colin Sullivan, Francis Casey, Sean O’Sullivan, John Paul McCarthy, Sean Walsh, Gary McGrath, Paul Patrick O’Sullivan. Subs: Clinton Griffin for John Paul McCarthy, Maurice O’Shea for Francis Casey, Martin Sweeney for Colin O’Sullivan, Emmet Casey, Sean Reilly, Liam Teahan, Sean M.O’Sullivan.

No comments: