Sunday, April 29, 2007

Novice Football Championship

Cromane 1-12 Templenoe 0-10

Cromane were at home on Sunday last in the Novice County Championship and after a good sporting contest Cromane emerged victorious. In the first half it was Templenoe who started the brighter with 2 points from play from corner forward Shane Cremins but Cromane drew level after 12 minutes with a pointed free from Gary McGrath aswell as a point from play from Donnachadh Walsh. But it was Templenoe that dominated the next 10 minutes with points from Timmy Clifford, Shane Cremins and from full forward Ogie Sheehan all from play. Cromane ended the half stronger with 2 points from Sean O’Sullivan one from a free and one from play. Colm Joy closed the scoring from Cromane with a point from play to leave the half time score Cromane 0-5 Templenoe 0-5.

In the 2nd half Cromane won possession and kicked a point from play from Gary McGrath but Templenoe responded with a converted free from the boot of Shane Cremins after he was fouled himself. Gary McGrath responded with a pointed close end free for Cromane. Gary McGrath scored the only goal of the game for Cromane after a great run from Sean O’Sullivan saw his shot saved by the keeper where McGrath was on hand to slot it to the net. Templnoe added 2 further points from their head scorer Shane Cremins one from play and one from a free. Sean O’Sullivan then had a great point from play for Cromane. Shane Cremins then tapped over a close end free for Templenoe which was quickly cancelled out with a converted free from Cromane’s Sean O’Sullivan. Cromane had 2 further points one a free from Gary McGrath and the other from play by Clinton Griffin. The last 2 scores of the game came from frees one from Templenoe by Shane Cremins and the other by Gary McGrath for Cromane this left the final score Cromane 1-12 Templenoe 0-10. The game was capably refereed by Mike Curran of Dromid.

Cromane: Liam Walsh, Cian O’Keefe, James Foley, Michael Teahan, John O’Sullivan, Peter O’Reilly, Colm Joy, Donnachadh Walsh, Colin O’Sullivan, John Paul McCarthy, Sean Walsh, Sean O’Sullivan, Francis Casey, Gary McGrath, Paul P.O’Sullivan. Subs: Clinton Griffin for Francis Casey.

Templenoe: Patrick O’Mahony, Brian O’Neill, Tommy Granville, Pat O’Connell, Mike Jones, Joe Sheehan, Pat Clifford, John Cremins, Damien Clifford, Daniel Cahillane, Patrick Palmer, Donal Casey, Shane Cremins, Ogie Sheehan, Tim Clifford. Sub: J.K O’Sullivan for Donal Casey.

No comments: